My Love From the Star Drama Review, Cast, Story, Trailer, Timing, and Release Date

Published on Feb 5, 2024 by

My Love From the Star Drama

My Love from the Star is a K-drama about an alien who comes to Earth 400 years ago and falls in love with a famous actress today. The alien looks like a human and has special powers. The actress is very popular but has problems. They meet and start a love story. This drama was on TV from December 2013 to February 2014 and is liked by many people.

My Love From the Star Drama Review

Drama My Love From the Star (별에서 온 그대)
Channel SBS TV, Netflix
Director Jang Tae-yoo and Oh Chung-hwan
Producers Moon Bo-mi
Starring Jun Ji-hyun, Kim Soo-hyun, Park Hae-jin, Yoo In-na, Shin Sung-rok, Ahn Jae-hyun
Writer Park Ji-eun
Country of origin South Korea
Release date December 18, 2013 – February 27, 2014
IMDB rating N/A
Total episodes 21 (+1 special)
First episode’s airing date December 18, 2013
Average episode length 60 minutes
Language Korean
Genre Romantic comedy and Fantasy
This show is 93% liked this TV show

My Love From the Star Cast

Role Actor Notes
Cheon Song-yi Jun Ji-hyun Main character
Young Cheon Song-yi / Seo Yi-hwa Kim Hyun-soo Young version
Do Min-joon Kim Soo-hyun Main character, an alien
Lee Hee-kyung Park Hae-jin Main character
Young Lee Hee-kyung Jo Seung-hyun Young version
Yoo Se-mi Yoo In-na Main character
Young Yoo Se-mi Kim Hye-won Young version
Yang Mi-yeon (Song-yi’s mother) Na Young-hee Supporting role
Cheon Min-goo (Song-yi’s father) Um Hyo-sup Supporting role
Cheon Yoon-jae (Song-yi’s younger brother) Ahn Jae-hyun Supporting role
Young Cheon Yoon-jae Jeon Jin-seo Young version
Jang Young-mok (Min-joon’s lawyer) Kim Chang-wan Supporting role
Lee Jae-kyung (Hee-kyung’s older brother) Shin Sung-rok Supporting role
Lee Beom-joong (Hee-kyung’s father) Lee Jung-gil Supporting role
Hong Eun-ah (Hee-kyung’s mother) Sung Byung-sook Supporting role
Han Sun-young (Se-mi’s mother) Lee Il-hwa Supporting role
Yoo Seok (Se-mi’s older brother) Oh Sang-jin Supporting role
Bok-ja (Song-yi’s high school friend) Hong Jin-kyung Supporting role
Ahn Dong-min (Song-yi’s talent agency CEO) Jo Hee-bong Supporting role
Min-ah (Song-yi’s stylist) Kim Bo-mi Supporting role
Yoon Bum (Song-yi’s manager) Kim Kang-hyun Supporting role

Guest Appearances

Actor Role Episode(s)
Bae Suzy Go Hye-mi, Min Joon’s student Ep. 17
Yoo In-young Han Yoo-ra, Cheon Song-yi’s arch-rival Special appearance
And more Various roles Various episodes

별에서 온 그대 Overview

My love from the star overview

My Love from the Star is one of the best Korean dramas of all time, about an alien named Do Min-joon who came to Earth 400 years ago and falls in love with a famous actress, Cheon Song-yi. The show mixes romance and comedy, and it became very popular, influencing fashion and makeup trends. It won several awards and helped spread Korean culture around the world.

Original SoundTracks

No. Title Artist Length
1. My Destiny Lyn 3:53
2. Like a Star (별처럼) K.Will 3:31
3. My Love from the Star (별에서 온 그대; You Who Came from the Stars) Younha 3:20
4. Goodbye (안녕; Hello/Goodbye) Hyolyn 3:40
5. I Love You JUST [ko] 4:01
6. Tears Fallin’ Like Today (오늘 같은 눈물이; Tears Like Today) Huh Gak 3:53
7. Every Moment of You — Original (너의 모든 순간) Sung Si-kyung 4:05
8. If I (너의 집 앞; In Front of Your House) Kim Soo-hyun 3:43
9. Every Moment of You — Piano Ver. Sung Si-kyung 4:02
Total length: 34:08

CD 2

No. Title Length
1. Man From Star (Opening Title) 2:12
2. Back to the Present 5:12
3. Cliff Tension 4:41
4. Star Bach Comic 1:39
5. Dark Fantasy 3:14
6. Past Love 3:12
7. Star Comic Pizzicato 1:28
8. Dream Scenery I 3:12
9. Dream Scenery II 4:16
10. Mocha Comic Tension 1:58
11. Tears in Minuet 3:14
12. Missing You 2:59
13. Beethoven Revolution 4:01
14. Killing Tension I 3:09
15. Killing Tension II 1:44
16. Welcome to Earth 3:35
17. Stars Comic Tension 2:10
18. Waltz With Star 2:08
19. Stars Love Mambo 1:53
20. Space Love 3:38
21. Run Away (Ending Title) 2:26
Total length: 61:03

My Love From Another Star StoryLine

My Love From the Star StoryLine

The K-drama, My Love from the Star is about an alien named Do Min-joon who landed on Earth 400 years ago. He has special powers and does not age. Min-joon tries to keep a low profile until he meets a famous actress, Cheon Song-yi, and starts to fall in love with her.

The drama follows their love story, which is complicated by Min-joon’s alien nature and the fact that he is supposed to return to his home planet. Their relationship affects those around them and leads to unexpected events.

Screenshots

Plot Summary

The South Korean series My Love from another Star is about an alien named Do Min-joon who has lived on Earth for 400 years. He falls in love with a famous actress, Cheon Song-yi, as he prepares to return to his planet. Their story is full of romance, comedy, and challenges because of Min-joon’s special abilities and his secret.

Synopsis

My Love From the Star Synopsis

My Love from the Star is a Korean TV series about an alien, Do Min-joon, who lands on Earth 400 years ago and falls in love with a famous actress, Cheon Song-yi, just as he’s about to return home. Their romance is filled with humour and challenges due to Min-joon’s supernatural abilities and the secret of his true identity​​.

Parents Guide

The drama My Love from Another Star is rated for viewers aged 15 and up in South Korea, with various age ratings applied in other countries, indicating it’s suitable for teens and older audiences. This content warns for romance, nudity, violence, profanity, or intense scenes, suggesting it’s relatively mild in these areas. It’s recommended that parents watch this K-drama first before deciding if it’s appropriate for their children.

My Love From the Star Awards and Nominations

Award Event Notes
Best Drama Award 7th Korea Drama Awards
Top Excellence Korean Drama Award 9th Seoul International Drama Awards
Magnolia Award for Best Foreign Television Series 20th Shanghai Television Festival
Best Foreign Drama Award 8th International Drama Festival in Tokyo
Nominated in 9 Television Categories 50th Baeksang Arts Awards Including Best Drama, Best Director, Best Screenplay
Grand Prize – Television (Jun Ji-hyun) 50th Baeksang Arts Awards
Most Popular Actor – Television (Kim Soo-hyun) 50th Baeksang Arts Awards
Grand Prize (Jun Ji-hyun) 22nd SBS Drama Awards
Best Actor in Asia Award (Kim Soo-hyun) 8th International Drama Festival in Tokyo

User Reviews

  • Absolutely in love with this drama! Jun Ji-hyun and Kim Soo-hyun have incredible chemistry. It’s a perfect mix of romance, comedy, and a bit of sci-fi. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a heartwarming story with a twist.
  • Started watching ‘My Love from the Star’ on a friend’s recommendation and couldn’t stop. The storyline is captivating, and the characters are very well developed. Also, the fashion and music in this drama are top-notch!
  • This drama is a masterpiece. It blends historical elements with modern-day Seoul in such a unique way. The special effects used for Do Min-joon’s powers are impressive, making it visually stunning.
  • I’ve rewatched ‘My Love from another Star’ three times already! It’s that good. The emotional depth, coupled with comedic moments, makes for a roller coaster of feelings. Definitely a classic in Korean dramas.
  • Wasn’t sure about the alien aspect at first, but this drama proved me wrong. It’s not just about the fantasy element but about love, sacrifice, and the challenges of being different. A must-watch for anyone who loves a good love story with some fantasy.

Trailer

About the Author: Gulrukh Chaudhary

Gulrukh Chaudhary, an accomplished digital marketer and technology writer with a passion for exploring the frontiers of innovation. Armed with a Master's degree in Information Technology, Gulrukh seamlessly blends her technical prowess with her creative flair, resulting in captivating insights into the world of emerging technologies. Discover more about her on her LinkedIn profile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *