A Step-By-Step Guide To Obtaining SAFe Scrum Master Training

Published on Nov 21, 2023 by

A Step-By-Step Guide To Obtaining SAFe Scrum Master Training

Agile approaches have become extremely popular in today’s fast-paced corporate environment due to their capacity to swiftly create value and adapt to altering requirements. SAFe, which offers a standardised and scalable structure for integrating agile practices across huge organisations, is one such method.

A key component of SAFe’s Scrum Master position is assisting agile teams and guaranteeing successful project delivery. This step-by-step manual will assist you in completing the essential training if you’re interested in being a SAFe Scrum Master.

Step-By-Step Process To Get A SAFe Scrum Master Training

Step 1:

Recognise your role as a SAFe Scrum Master:

It’s crucial to understand the responsibilities and demands of a SAFe Scrum Master before beginning the course. The Scrum Master is in charge of promoting teamwork, removing obstacles, and making sure the agile team follows the Scrum methodology. They are essential in spreading the SAFe values and principles, conducting meetings, and helping the team accomplish its goals.

Step 2:

Learn About SAFe:

A thorough knowledge of the SAFe architecture is essential to succeed in your role as SAFe Scrum Master. Explore official SAFe assets, like the SAFe site (scaledagileframework.com), read SAFe books, and watch instructional videos to become familiar with the fundamental ideas, practices, and principles of SAFe. Using this fundamental knowledge, you will better understand SAFe’s guiding principles and position with agile approaches.

Step 3:

Examine your options for SAFe Scrum Master training:

Numerous businesses provide SAFe Scrum Master classes. Choosing a trustworthy training provider with an extensive and current curriculum is crucial. The organisation that oversees SAFe certifications, Scaled Agile, certifies trainers. A list of approved training providers and forthcoming training events may be found on the SAFe website.

Step 4:

Selecting a Training Format:

There are several forms for SAFe Scrum Master training, including live workshops, online self-paced courses, and virtual classrooms. When choosing the training format, consider your learning preferences, spending limit, and timetable. Active instruction and networking are possible via live workshops and online classrooms. At the same time, self-paced distance learning programs give students the freedom to work at their own pace.

Step 5:

Enrol in the SAFe Scrum Masters Training:

Enrol with the SAFe Scrum Masters course after choosing the format and the training provider. Complete a registration process by adhering to the training provider’s instructions. Check the course prerequisites carefully because some instructors may insist students have prior Agile and Scrum knowledge.

Step 6:

Participate in Training:

Take your SAFe Scrum Master course on the designated day. Ask questions, participate in group activities, and actively participate in the sessions. A brief review of the SAFe framework, the agile way of thinking, Scrum rituals, teamwork, servant leadership, and efficient Agile scaling methodologies are just a few of the subjects that will be covered in the workshop.

Step 7:

The SAFe Scrum Masters Exam preparation:

You have to undergo the SAFe Scrum Masters exam to achieve certification. The instruction provider will offer resources and study materials to aid in your exam preparation. Reinforce your comprehension of SAFe ideas, roles, and practices by reviewing the course materials and taking practice exams.

Step 8:

Test yourself as a SAFe Scrum Master:

Make a date and time to take all SAFe Scrum Masters exams after you finish your training and feel comfortable with your knowledge. The exam typically consists of questions with multiple choices and is completed online. Passing the exam may prove your proficiency as a SAFe Scrum Master.


CSM (Certified Scrum Master):

The fundamental distinctions between SSM vs CSM must be understood while looking at SAFe Scrum Master training. The Scrum Alliance offers the CSM certification, which concentrates on the principles of the Scrum framework in the context of a single team. It allows people to perform well as Scrum Masters, supporting Scrum rituals and directing the team towards successful project delivery.

SAFe Scrum Master (SSM):

The SAFe Scrum Master (SSM) accreditation, on the other hand, is intended exclusively for Agile practitioners working inside the SAFe framework. With the help of SSM certification, professionals can comprehend the complexity of putting Agile practices into practice at a large scale, taking into account many teams, dependence, and enterprise-level issues. SAFe Scrum Masters are in charge of facilitating Agile transformations throughout the organisation and assuring Scrum implementation at the team level.

Key Differences:

● Scalability:

While CSM training primarily focuses on Scrum foundations within a single team, SAFe Scrum Masters training strongly emphasises scaling Agile practices. Lean-Agile concepts and how to use them in massive businesses are taught to SAFe Scrum Masters.

● Organizational Perspectives:

SAFe Scrum Masters are educated to support Agile transformations and assist organisations in adopting Lean thinking, establishing Agile Releases Trains (ARTs), and bringing together various teams to work towards a single objective. On the other side, CSM certification focuses on enhancing team-level Scrum implementation.

● Complexity:

The SAFe architecture deals with the problems and difficulties while implementing Agile methods in more prominent organisations. With SSM training, people can manage dependencies, synchronise teams, and traverse enterprise-level dynamics.

● Collaborative Leadership:

SAFe Scrum Masters are supposed to adopt the servant leadership position and promote a culture of cooperation, continuous improvement, and autonomy. The Scrum Master’s position of a servant leader in a team setting is emphasised in CSM training.


To become an Agile leader who can deftly traverse the difficulties of large-scale Agile implementations, getting SAFe Scrum Master training is a crucial step. People can gain the expertise they need to succeed as SAFe The Scrum Masters by following the detailed instructions provided in this article. Professionals can pick the path that best suits their career objectives and the needs of their organisations by being aware of the differences between SAFe Scrum Masters (SSM) and Certified Scrum Masters (CSM) certifications.

About the Author: Tom Warren

Tom Warren is a prominent tech writer renowned for his deep expertise in the world of technology and innovation. With a career spanning several years, Tom has become a trusted voice in tech journalism, known for his insightful analysis and comprehensive coverage of the latest trends and developments. His writing is not only informative but also accessible, making complex tech concepts understandable for a broad audience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com