TikTok has introduced a new feature to prevent the spread of misleading details on its platform. A warning will now appear in this popular video-sharing app for users when they share videos based on unverified information. After this update, when users try to share a flagged video, a pop-up message will appear in the app stating 'This video is flagged due to unverified content'.
If the user wishes, he can share the video, but this video will not be shown on other users' 'for you page'. TikTok will also notify the first sharer of this video that it has been flagged. TikTok expects this feature to be considered by users for sharing and will reduce the sharing of unverified content.
The company said that in the initial test, this feature resulted in a 24% reduction in the share of warning videos. A similar feature has been introduced by Twitter, which aims to encourage users to read articles before reading them. Twitter also declared the feature success in the testing phase.
Compared to other social media platforms, TikTok has adopted a more aggressive strategy to prevent misleading content. The company is working with a number of third-party fact-checking agencies and is deleting videos. However, at times some posts escape this process, which the company is taking further steps to prevent.
According to TikTok, this new feature will help prevent unverified content during important events.