Facebook, the world's most popular social networking site, has stated that it will terminate its users' ability to view their location history as of May 31 this month.
In a recent message given to Android and iOS users, Facebook confirmed that the website would soon include 'Nearby Friends, Live Location, and Location History and Background.' According to the technology website The Verge, this is the first time that Facebook has confirmed this. This functionality will be disabled.
According to the article, a Facebook official confirmed to the website that the site would eliminate all features linked to location history by May 31, 2022, according to the report.
According to the spokesperson, anyone who wants to go into their settings and download or erase all of their location information before the deadline will be able to do so; however, after the deadline, the firm will delete all of the histories on its own
The spokesman also stated that, while the history features on Facebook will be withdrawn on May 31, 2022, users will be allowed to deactivate and re-download the app and download their history from it by August 1, 2022, according to the spokesperson.
The official further noted that removing location history elements does not imply that Facebook would cease monitoring users' whereabouts in the future.
In accordance with the corporation, after May 31, 2022, Facebook will continue to store all information, including user location history, for future use. The ability to operate will be available. However, their location history will not be made public, and users will no longer be able to utilize this function on Facebook.
According to the spokesman, Facebook has constantly gathered users' location data to improve its functionality.
While expressing optimism that users would not have any difficulties due to the removal of the location history services on Facebook, the spokesperson noted that the popularity of the abovementioned features was already low.