National Squad for the First Test Against South Africa Announced

National Squad for the First Test Against South Africa Announced

Posted on Jan 25, 2021

The 17-member national squad for the first match of the two-match Test series against South Africa has been announced.

The selectors of the national cricket team have announced a 17-member squad out of the 20-member squad initially announced, which includes several new players. The 17 members announced for the first Test against South Africa, along with the other three cricketers in the team's 20-member preliminary squad, will continue training at the National Cricket Stadium.

The first match of the series between Pakistan and South Africa will start on January 26 at the National Stadium in Karachi. Captain Babar Azam will select the final 11-member squad for the match in consultation with the team's head coach Misbah-ul-Haq. The squad announced for the first match starting January 26 at the National Stadium Karachi includes two openers Abid Ali and Imran Butt, middle-order batsmen Azhar Ali, captain Babar Azam and Fawad Alam Saud Shakeel.

The team consists of two all-rounders Faheem Ashraf and Mohammad Nawaz, two wicket-keepers, vice-captain Mohammad Rizwan and former captain Sarfraz Ahmad. Three spinners have also been included in the national squad, including Noman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, fast bowlers Haris Rauf, Hassan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Tabish Khan.

It is to be noted that a series of two Tests and three T20 matches will be played between Pakistan and South Africa. The Test series between the two teams is of utmost importance as it is part of the World Test Championship.


Hamza Sarfraz

Blog Author

Related Posts