India's worst defeat, Australia fifth-time women's World Cup champion

India's worst defeat, Australia fifth-time women's World Cup champion

Posted on Mar 9, 2020

Defending champions Australia have won the title of fifth time after beating India by 85 runs in the final of the Women's T20 World Cup.

Australia won the toss and decided to bat first in the final of the Women's T20 World Cup played at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Openers Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney gave their team a fantastic start, setting up an opening partnership of 115 runs.

Hailey took advantage of her husband Mitchell Starc's stadium presence on the field, scoring 75 off 39 balls with 5 sixes and seven fours.

The other Australian women then continued to score wickets in an attempt to score fast, but from the other end, Mooney made an unbeaten 78-run stand, leading his team to 78 for four in the stipulated overs.

In pursuit of the target, the Indian innings started in a devastating way and on the aggregate score of two, Shafali Verma Pavilion returned, but the real blow to India came when Tania Bhatia retired.

The Indian team's problems continued and the Indian team got 3 more wickets to reach the overall score of 30.

After losing 4 wickets for 30 runs, Dipti Sharma and Veda Krishnamurti stopped the wickets and set up a 28-run partnership but Dilsa Cummins ended Krishnamurti's innings.

Dipti Sharma and Richa Ghosh added another 30 runs, but they too could not change the fate of their team and both players returned to the pavilion after scoring 33 and 18 respectively.

The whole team of India collapsed to 99 runs and Australia won the women's T20 World Cup for the fifth time, defending their honour with 85 wins.

From Australia, Megan Schutt took four and Jesse Jonassen took three wickets.

Alyssa Haley was named the best player of the match when she played excellent offensive innings


Mian Tajamul

Blog Author

Related Posts