Defeating Thiem, Djokovic becomes Australian Open Champion for the 8th time

Defeating Thiem, Djokovic becomes Australian Open Champion for the 8th time

Posted on Feb 3, 2020

World number two and Serbian tennis star Novak Djokovic defeated Austria's Dominic Thiem and won the 8th Australian Open and Career's 17th Grand Slam title.

Novak Djokovic of Serbia and Dominic Thiem of Austria competed in the men's singles event of the Australian Open at the first Grand Slam Tennis Tournament of the Year played at Melbourne's Road Lever Arena.

In the first set, Djokovic showed a great game, beating the theme 4-6 and taking a set lead.

However, the Dominic Thiem of Austria returned to the match brilliantly and won two consecutive sets 4-6 and 2-6 to take the lead.

During this time, the Serbian player also complained of ankle injury and had to seek the help of a trainer.

In the fourth set of matches, Djokovic used his experience and low-backed his way to victory, winning the fourth set 3-6 and putting the contest at 2-2.


Djokovic wins the Australian Open for the 8th time - Photo: AP
In the deciding set, the theme put on a spectacular game but at this stage they were defeated by Djokovic's experience and after a thrilling contest by the Serbian star, they won the Australian Open for the 8th time.

Djokovic has also won his first Grand Slam of the year in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019.

Along with this victory, Djokovic won the overall career 17th Grand Slam where he has won 5 Wimbledon, 3 US Opens and one French Open title.

Dominic Thiem defeated Grand Slam final for the third time in his career, having previously failed at the 2018 and 2019 French Open by Rafael Nadal.


Mian Tajamul

Blog Author

Related Posts