Asia XI vs World XI, Pakistani players not included

Asia XI vs World XI, Pakistani players not included

Posted on Feb 26, 2020

Asia XI has been announced for Schedule 2 Twenty20 matches, which did not include any Pakistani players, in connection with the 100th birth anniversary of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman in Bangladesh's capital Dhaka.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) President Nazmul Hasan announced the players of 'World XI' and 'Asia XI', according to the Cricinfo report.

A series of two Twenty20 matches will be played in Dhaka on March 21 and 22, for which both teams including Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis and Joni Bairstow have been announced.

The Asian XI team has selected six players from India and five from Bangladesh, but no Pakistani player has been named.

"No Pakistani player has been added to the squad as they are busy in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) and the final of the tournament will be played on March 22," said BCB President Nazmul Hasan.

According to the report, Virat Kohli is among six Indian players in Asia XI but he will be part of one match, but Shakir Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammad Shami will be available for both matches.

"We have already received four names from India, we have not contracted with them but Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shekhar Dhawan and Mohammad Shami are coming," said the BCB president.

Referring to Indian cricket officials, he said, "They have asked us for a match for KL Rahul and Virat Kohli but a final decision has not been made so far".

The Indian team will be busy next month against New Zealand and South Africa, the second Test against New Zealand will start from March 4 and the 3-match series against South Africa will be played between March 12 and March 18.

Despite the Indian team's engagement, six Indian players have been added to the squad for the matches on March 21 and 22 but no Pakistani has been selected, though the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on March 29.


Mian Tajamul

Blog Author

Related Posts