Announcement of new central contract, demotion of Sarfaraz, Aamir, Wahab and Hassan deprived

Announcement of new central contract, demotion of Sarfaraz, Aamir, Wahab and Hassan deprived

Posted on May 14, 2020

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the new central contract of the national cricket team in which former captain Sarfraz Ahmed has been demoted while Hassan Ali, Mohammad Amir, and Wahab Riaz could not find a place in the central contract.

The new central contract announced by the PCB for 2020-2021 has been widely scrapped and many well-known players have not been able to find a place in the contract while a few new players have been made part of the contract. ۔

The new contract has a total of three categories in which a total of 18 players have been awarded contracts while three emerging players have also been awarded.


Speaking of new faces in the central contract, Naseem Shah and Iftikhar Ahmed managed to get the central contract.

Some new changes have also been made in the new contract under which Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, and Hassan Ali have been removed from the list while former captain Sarfraz Ahmed has been demoted from Category A to Category B.

The three players who have been placed in Category A by the PCB include both captains Azhar Ali and Babar, as well as young fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi.

After the retirement of Aamir and Wahib Riaz from Test cricket last year, Shaheen Shah Afridi carried the burden of the Pakistani bowling line in all three formats and presented the best game in all formats on the basis of which he was successful in securing the first category of contract.

Along with Sarfraz, Babar and Yasir Shah were in Category A last year
But given the decline in the league spinner's performance, he has been downgraded.

Abid Ali, Shaan Masood, and Mohammad Rizwan have been promoted from C to B category while Wahab, who was included in B category in the previous contract, has been dropped from the list, possibly due to his withdrawal from Test cricket. ۔

The nine players in the B category include former captains Sarfraz Ahmed, Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Shaan Masood, and Yasir Shah.

The six players placed in Category C include Fakhr Zaman, Emad Wasim, Usman Shinwari, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imamul Haq, and Naseem Shah.

In addition, three emerging players have been given contracts, including Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Hasnain.

Misbah-ul-Haq, head coach and chief selector of the national cricket team, said that the selectors decided to award the central contract on the basis of merit and the central contract was announced keeping in view the performance of the last 12 months and the needs of the next month.

On the occasion, he thanked the Chairman PCB for approving the proposal to give emerging players to Haris Rauf, Haider Ali and Mohammad Hasnain. He said that this would encourage the players to perform well in domestic cricket.




Mian Tajamul

Blog Author

Related Posts