Two separatist organizations, including JSQM-A, banned in Sindh

Two separatist organizations, including JSQM-A, banned in Sindh

ISLAMABAD: The government has banned one nationalist and two separatist organizations in Sindh, bringing the number of banned organizations in the country to 76.

Informed sources said that Jai Sindh National Front Ariser Group (JSQM-A), Sindh Desh Revolution Army (SRA) and Sindh Desh Liberation Army (SLA)
 Added to the list of banned organizations this year.

It should be noted that the process of compiling the list of banned organizations started on August 14, 2001, when Lashkar-e-Jhangvi and Sipah-e-Muhammad Pakistan were banned. Later on January 14, 2002, the government banned Jaish-e-Muhammad, Lashkar-e-Taiba, and Sipah-e-Sahaba Pakistan. , Tehreek-e-Islami and Tehreek-e-Nifaz Shariat-e-Muhammadi were banned.


Tehreek-e-Jaffariah Pakistan was added to the list in January 2002, followed by Al-Qaeda on March 17, 2003, the Islamic Nation of Pakistan on November 15, 2003, Khudaim-ul-Islam and the Islamic Movement of Pakistan.

In addition, three more organizations, Jamaat-ul-Ansar, Jamaat-ul-Furqan, and Hizb ut-Tahrir, were banned on November 20, 2003, and the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa International Trust was banned on October 27, 2004.

In addition, the Balochistan Liberation Army (BLA) was added to the list on April 7, 2006, while the Islamic Students Movement of Pakistan was added to the list in August 2006.

Later, on June 30, 2008, Lashkar-e-Islam, Ansar-ul-Islam, and Haji Namdar groups were banned and then on August 25, 2008, the Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) was banned.

On September 8, 2010, five militant organizations from Balochistan, the Balochistan Republican Army, Balochistan Liberation Front, Lashkar-e-Balochistan, Balochistan Liberation United Front, and Balochistan Armed Defense Organization, were added to the list.

The People's Peace Committee (Lyari) in Karachi, including Shia Student Action Committee, Markaz Sabeel Organization, and Ahl-e-Sunnat Youth Organization, was banned on October 10, 2011.

In addition, the new formation of Sipah-e-Sahaba Pakistan Ahl-e-Sunnat-e-Jamaat was banned on February 15, 2012, followed by Al-Harmain Foundation and Rabita Trust on March 6, 2012, Anjuman-e-Islamia and Muslim Students on April 24, 2012 (from Gilgit-Baltistan). Organization added to the list.

In addition, Ahl-e-Sunnat-e-Wal-Jamaat (Gilgit-Baltistan) was added to the list on June 5, 2012, while Balochistan Radical Army, Tehreek-e-Nifaz-e-Aman, Tehfeez-e-Hudood-e-Allah, Balochistan Waja Liberation Army, Islam Mujahideen, Jaish-e-Islam and The Balochistan National Liberation Army was banned.

In 2013, the list was further expanded to include Khan Hikmat Gilgit-Baltistan on March 13, while on March 15, 2013, Tehreek-e-Taliban Swat, Tehreek-e-Taliban Mohmand, Tariq Jaidar Group, Abdullah Azam Brigade, East Turkmenistan Islamic Movement, Islamic Movement Of Uzbekistan, Islamic Jihad Union, 313 Brigade, Tehreek-e-Taliban Bajaur, Amr Bal Ma'roof Wa Nahi An Al Munkar (Haji Namdar Group), Baloch Student Organization-Azad, United Baloch Army and Jai Sindh Muttahida Mahaz were banned.

The list has not changed since then until July 15, 2015, but then ISIS was added to the list of banned organizations.

On November 11, 2016, Jamaat-ul-Ahrar and Lashkar-e-Jhangvi Al-Alami were made part of the list, while on December 30, 2016, Ansarul Hussain was made part of the list.

Later in 2017, Tehreek-e-Azadi Jammu and Kashmir were the only organization to be included in this list and it was declared null and void on June 8.

The last organization banned by the PML-N government in 2018 was Jundallah.

The first addition to the list was made by the PTI government on December 13, 2018, and the Yemen-based Al-Rahman Welfare Trust Organization was banned.

The first organization to be banned in 2019 was the Balwaristan National Front (Abdul Hameed Khan Group) and a ban notification was issued on February 26.

The decision to ban Jamaat-ud-Dawa and the Welfare for Humanity Foundation in the country was taken at a meeting of the National Security Committee chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan on February 21, 2019, but a formal notification was issued by the Interior Ministry on March 5, 2019.

However, after a gap of more than two months, seven organizations affiliated with Jamaat-ud-Dawa and the Welfare for Humanity Foundation were added to the list along with their parent organizations.

In addition, on April 18, 2019, the Pak-Turkish International CAG Education Foundation was declared null and void. On July 26, 2019, Hizb-ul-Ahrar and Balochistan Raji Ajodi-R-Sangar (BRAS) were added to the list of terrorist organizations.

In addition, from March 29, 2017, the Architects Trust Committee and from May 30, 2017, Ghulam Sahaba are on the watch list. In addition, Sachal Sarmast Welfare Trust Karachi and Al-Jaza Patient Welfare Organization were added to the watch list in June last year.

Similarly, since December 2005, Al-Akhtar Trust and Al-Rasheed Trust have been listed under UN Security Council Resolution 1267.



Related Posts