Swat: journalist killed in firing

Swat: journalist killed in firing

Posted on Feb 26, 2020

Mangora: A journalist was shot dead in Shkardara area of ​​Mata tehsil of Swat.

The deceased journalist was a member of the Peace Committee as well as a local leader of the PML-N.

According to police, Javedullah Khan was riding his car on his fields that unidentified assailants opened fire on his car, resulting in severe injuries.

He was immediately rushed to the hospital where he succumbed to his injuries, however, the police guard with the journalist in the car was safe at the time of the attack.

Upon receiving the report of the incident, police and anti-terror authorities arrived at the scene and evacuated the area and started a search operation.

Javedullah Khan was the bureau chief of Urdu daily affairs (Islamabad).

His younger brother, Hamidullah Khan, was a former Dawn correspondent in Mingora, Swat, and is now affiliated with the Qatari broadcasting Al Jazeera.

It may be recalled that a few days ago the body of Aziz Memon, a journalist from Sindh, was recovered in a mysterious condition from a canal in Mehrabpur, a town near Nowshera Feroz.

Mehrabpur Police Station Station House Officer (SHO) Azim Rajpar said that there was an electric wire in the throat of Aziz Memon, but could not immediately confirm how he was killed.

Until the last reports, a case of the mysterious death of Aziz Memon could not be filed, however, after the news came to the media, the Chief Minister Sindh took notice of his death and demanded a report.

The Chief Minister sought an immediate report from Nowsherovir police and ordered the immediate arrest of the journalist's killers.

It is to be noted that the Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) report said that last year at least 7 journalists were killed and 60 journalists were booked under anti-terrorism and other laws.

According to available data, at least seven journalists were killed and 15 were injured in the course of their duties in 2019.

Of the seven slain journalists, five are Uroj Iqbal, Mirza Wasim Beg, Mohammad Bilal Khan, Ali Sher Rajpar and Malik Amanullah Khan.

The report said that unwarranted immunity for media attackers could be gauged from the fact that not a single killer or assailant of media workers could be brought to justice.




Mian Tajamul

Blog Author

Related Posts