Third T20: Pakistan wins after thrilling contest, clean sweep defeat to Bangladesh

Third T20: Pakistan wins after thrilling contest, clean sweep defeat to Bangladesh

Posted on Nov 23, 2021

Pakistan achieved a 0-3 series sweep after defeating Bangladesh by 5 wickets in a gripping third T20 encounter, owing to their bowlers' outstanding performance.

The third T20 match is being held at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, which also hosted the previous two matches of the series. After winning the toss, Bangladesh elected to bat, and their opening combination failed once more, with Najam Hussain Shanto returning to the pavilion with 5 runs on a total of 7.

In his first over, Shahnawaz Dahani, who made his T20 debut, destroyed Najam Hussain's wickets. Shamim Hussain and Mohammad Naeem increased the team score to 37 runs, however he was caught by Usman Qadir on this occasion. Mohammad Naeem and Afif Hussain took the initiative to enhance the team's position, and when the score reached 80, Afif Hussain's innings came to an end.

Bangladesh lost four wickets in the last three overs of the innings, including Muhammad Naeem, who scored 47 runs. In the allotted overs, Bangladesh scored 124 runs for the loss of seven wickets. Muhammad Waseem and Usman Qadir each got two wickets for Pakistan, while Shahnawaz Dhani and Haris Rauf both took one wicket.

Pakistan's openers handed the team a 32-run advantage in pursuit of the mark, with Babar Azam departing to the pavilion after hitting 19 off 25 balls. On this occasion, Haider Ali joined Mohammad Rizwan, and the two players played a responsible game, forming a 51-run partnership. Shahidul Islam spread his wickets to give the squad another victory. Mohammad Rizwan hit 40 from 43 balls with a six and two fours. Sarfraz Ahmed accompanied Haider Ali, however the wicketkeeper-batsman struggled throughout the innings, causing the needed run rate to rise.

Pakistan needed 8 runs in the last over to win, but the second ball of the over was caught on the boundary by Sarfraz Ahmed. Pakistan was dealt another setback when Haider was caught on the boundary while attempting to score a six off the following ball. Haider made 45 runs off 38 balls, including two sixes and three fours. As soon as Iftikhar came, he struck a six, and then he was caught on the following ball, giving Mahmudullah the third wicket.

Pakistan needed two runs on the final ball to win, but there were some exciting moments before that. The Bangladesh captain bowled the final ball, however Nawaz dropped the wicket before the ball hit the wicket, and the umpire deemed the ball dead ball, while Mahmudullah did not toss the ball after finishing the run up.

These suspenseful moments came to an end, though, as Nawaz Ali struck a four off the final delivery to give Pakistan a stunning 5-wicket triumph. Pakistan won the match and finished the series with a perfect 3-0 record. The best player in the match was Haider Ali, while the best player of the series was Mohammad Rizwan. A video of him receiving his debut cap from Sarfraz Ahmed was previously posted by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Sarfraz Ahmed has also been included in the starting XI for today's match.

Mohammad Rizwan, Haider Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Khushdal Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, and Shahnawaz Dhani are the Pakistani players.

Mahmudullah (captain), Muhammad Naeem, Shamim Hussain, Najam Hussain Shanto, Afif Hussain, Noorul Hassan, Mehdi Hassan, Aminul Islam, Shaheedul Islam, Taseen Ahmed, and Nasum Ahmed are the Bangladeshi players. It should be noted that Pakistan leads the series with a score of 2-0. After a dramatic battle, Pakistan overcame the host nation by 4 wickets in the first T20 match. Bangladesh were defeated by 8 wickets in the second T20 encounter.


Hamza Sarfraz

Blog Author

Related Posts